A Virtuous Vegan Lunch In London At Nosh Garden Kitchen

When Tom and I were in London recently for a little university friends reunion, we stayed at La Suite West, which is right next to Hyde Park. Once we’d dumped our bags in our beautiful suite (more on that in my next post), we settled down to lunch at the hotel’s on-site restaurant, Nosh Garden Kitchen.

Nosh Garden Kitchen had just launched a new superfood-rich menu; everything served is additive, egg and preservative free, high in vitamins, naturally flavoured and over 90% dairy free, gluten free and not heat treated, yet still nutrient-rich. In fact, the restaurant’s claims to ‘Purify and nutrify’ with its fare.

Now, I know that all that free-from-everything-delicious claim could scare people off, and to be honest I wondered what could possibly be left on the menu, without cheese or meat or preservatives. I’m not a vegan or a massive health nut, but I do try to eat less animal products and avoid processed foods because, well, it just makes me feel better. I’ll still never turn down a takeaway, but I was keen to try lunch at Nosh Garden Kitchen because I eat out a lot and know how hard it can be to ‘eat clean’ when you’re not the one in the kitchen. After all, chefs generally amp up the taste in their dishes using lashes of salt, butter and other naughty ingredients that we’d avoid or scrimp on when cooking for ourselves. So could Nosh Garden Kitchen deliver on flavour while remaining sin-free?

Nosh Garden Kitchen review

It was a warm day so we opted to sit outside, on the long wooden tables beneath a canopy of green leaves that reflect the greenness of the menu.

Nosh Garden Kitchen outdoor seating

We perused the drinks menu thirstily and went for a mocktail each: a strawberry mojito for Tom and strawberry daiquiri for me. They were both wonderfully thirst-quenching after our long train journey and refreshed us before the food arrived. (And don’t worry – we had plenty of alcohol later in our London trip to make up for going sin-free at lunch!)

Mocktails at Nosh Garden Kitchen

Review of Nosh Garden Kitchen at La Suite West

 

For ‘nosh’, I ordered a trio of courgette rolls stuffed with black olive tapenade and green and red pesto. Like all of the other dishes, they arrived on a slate, nestled into a bed of green leaves. The courgette was super fresh and the fillings were tasty.

 

Courgette rolls at Nosh Garden Kitchen

 

My main course was the black bean and mushroom burger, served with sweet potato fries. The burger itself was slightly caramelised on the outside which I loved, but softer and more mushy on the inside. Perhaps it’s because I’d never usually order a vegan burger, but I wasn’t keen on the middle – but if you’re used to the ingredients, you’d probably love it. The Palestinian za’atar and lemon relish added a lovely extra layer to the flavours.

 

Vegan lunch at Nosh Garden Kitchen in London

 

 

The sweet potato fries where gorgeous, although Tom stole most of them!

Healthy vegan food near Hyde Park at Nosh Garden Kitchen

 

Tom ordered the vegan afternoon tea, and we were both eager to see what that constituted.

Nosh Garden Kitchen’s plant-based spin on the traditional afternoon tea includes finger sandwiches with imaginative fillings: cashew nut cream cheese, sundried tomato, scrambled tofu with mustard cress and BBQ tempeh with rocket salad.

Vegan afternoon tea in London near Hyde Park

The homemade scones were still warm and served alongside a delicious whipped coconut ‘cream’ and fresh strawberries.

The dessert selection on the afternoon tea was the standout part for us: a nutty protein ball, melt-in-the-mouth chocolate pudding and a ginger cake that Tom devoured.

Health food restaurant near Hyde Park: Nosh Garden Kitchen review

If you’re looking for something wellness-focused for lunch in London near Hyde Park, you’ll love Nosh Garden Kitchen. Their inventive supplements for traditional dishes and selection of fresh, plant-based meals make this a great pick for people wanting to uphold their clean-eating habits but still treat themselves – or someone else.

Do you know someone who would love this virtuous lunch in London? Send it to them, or save it for later! Also, are you vegan and do you find it difficult to find amazing places to eat?

You can  follow me on FacebookInstagram and Twitter for more updated from my adventures in the UK and abroad. You can also subscribe to make sure you never miss a post.

All photographs were taken on my Olympus Pen E-PL7.

 

Share:

28 Comments

  1. LuxeStyle
    August 3, 2017 / 10:21 am

    This found sounds super different! Love that it’s somewhere healthy to eat x

    Jenny | LuxeStyle

  2. August 3, 2017 / 3:05 pm

    That’s saved in my list of places to try. I’m not vegan, but I’m gluten free and allergic to milk, so somewhere with some interesting options sounds great. The mocktails look well worth the trip too – and such a nice looking space in which to enjoy them.

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:27 am

      They actually ask if you have any specific dietary issues when you order, so you’d be well looked after at Nosh! Hope you get to try it 🙂

  3. August 3, 2017 / 6:50 pm

    Your vegan food looks so delicious!!! I’m vegan too and always struggle to find a variety of options like this! I’m going to keep this restaurant in mind when I visit London next! How much was your meal in total?

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:27 am

      Hey Chloe, I think it was around 70GBP for the vegan afternoon tea, a two course lunch and the Mocktails. Not so bad considering this is London!

  4. August 3, 2017 / 7:00 pm

    I have a couple of friends that would certainly enjoy this restaurant. I am sure I would have felt the same way you did about the burger, but that strawberry drink looks insanely delicious. I had a great time finding little restaurants when I was in London last year. Lots of yummy bites!

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:26 am

      Ooh I’ll have to get more restaurant recommendations from you! The drinks were absolutely gorgeous, and that’s coming from a girl who likes her booze!

  5. August 4, 2017 / 12:21 am

    I admire anyone who can eat full-time vegan! I would love to be able to do that for health reasons, but it’s so hard when you’re on the road full time!

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:25 am

      I’ve frequently thought about how hard it must be to stick to ANY dietary requirement while travelling, so it’s great that there are options like this.

  6. August 4, 2017 / 3:55 am

    Love your flatlay photos of your meals! I adore London and have one more reason to return now, so that I can check this out. It looks like such a quaint and chic spot!

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:25 am

      Oh thank you! Forever the girl hovering a camera over everyone’s heads at restaurants 🙂

  7. August 4, 2017 / 7:58 am

    Some lovely options here 🙂 I am not a vegan but the food looks so yummy. Its nice to find places where they sell such healthy food.

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:24 am

      I’m not either but I enjoyed trying new ingredients. 🙂

  8. August 4, 2017 / 9:27 am

    Wow this looks so tasty! I’d love to try the strawberry Mojito and the caramelised burger, it seems sooo good! 🙂

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 10:24 am

      It really was, if you’re in London – check it out!

  9. August 4, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    Glad you found a spot that had vegan options AND was worth eating. Love that more and more places are trying to be more friendly to people with varying dietery choices or restrictions. Little different, but I have a younger sister with a decently severe dairy allergy, nuts, and shellfish, and too often when we dine out she gets “well we can just make you some plain pasta/grilled/chicken/anything that lacks flavor,etc

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 5:02 pm

      I think your sister would be fine here – they ask if you have any dietary requirements and are super accommodating! I agree, it’s great that restaurants are beginning to cater to different diets.

  10. August 4, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    I’m still thinking about that Courgette dish! Totally not normally the food I go for, but it looks delicious!

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 4, 2017 / 5:00 pm

      It’s great to try different foods! The courgette dish was delicious, and the pesto fillings! Mmm.

  11. August 6, 2017 / 9:40 am

    Being a vegetarian I know how good it feels to get a nice vegan or pure vegetarian restaurant outside of India when we travel. I am definitely going to note this one down so I can check it out when I visit here. I loved the vegan food outlets on my recent trip to Italy and Switzerland

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 7, 2017 / 2:24 pm

      I can imagine the offering is much better in India! Definitely check Nosh Garden Kitchen out when you’re next in London.

  12. August 7, 2017 / 8:23 am

    The food looked delicious, the seating arrangement under a canopy of leaves sounds such a fantastic idea!

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 7, 2017 / 2:23 pm

      It’s like eating in a tropical oasis!

  13. Sandy N Vyjay
    August 8, 2017 / 12:04 am

    Nosh Garden Kitchen seems to serve some spectacular vegan food. The food I can see is something definitely up our alley. As we are Vegetarians we have to look out for appropriate food when traveling and are challenged in many places. Will bookmark this place for our visit there. I really love the look of the food, especially the finger sandwiches.

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 8, 2017 / 12:55 pm

      I hope you get to visit Nosh Garden Kitchen! I’m curious – which country have you found it most difficult to find good vegetarian food?

  14. August 8, 2017 / 12:23 am

    All looks delicious! Will pin and save it:). love the look of your blog too! Did it go through a makeover after the name alteration?Also, what font are you using?

    • Dannielle | While I'm Young
      August 8, 2017 / 12:55 pm

      Thank you! Which font – headings or body copy? I’m kind of continually making improvements and changing things as I get sick of them haha!

  15. August 11, 2017 / 11:05 am

    The food is really yummy. Your shots make it even more so. And it is lunch time here as I type this. So you can well imagine my state right now.